Public Affairs Manager
Port of Everett Commission awards contract to Nickel Brothers to Relocate Historic Weyerhaeuser Building to Boxcar Park
To learn more about the project, including site preparation, relocation route, timing and more visit www.portofeverett.com/historicmove
Everett, Wash. – On April 19, the Port Commission awarded a nearly $1.1 million contract to Everett-based Nickel Brothers to relocate the iconic 1923 Weyerhaeuser Building from its current location in the Port of Everett Marina to the Port’s new Boxcar Park.
The building, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is set to make its third waterfront move in the May/June timeframe; this time from its current location in the Port’s South Marina along West Marine View Drive to the Port’s new Boxcar Park in the Central Marina at water’s edge. This move will set the stage for use as an outdoor performance venue and marine clubhouse in the 2020 timeframe.
“This is a very important project and building for the community,” Port Commissioner Troy McClelland said. “Staff will be exploring ways to put the building back into productive use at Boxcar Park in the interim while preparations are made for the interior and exterior improvements to the building to create an outdoor performance venue and marina clubhouse in the 2020 timeframe.”
This timeline ensures that the building move does not conflict with construction at Fisherman’s Harbor (the first phase of Waterfront Place Central), anticipated to begin in mid-2016. It also allows the Port to avoid a height clearance conflict related to the future construction of the City’s Grand Avenue Park Bridge.
“Honoring the building in a public venue infused with its lumber and shingle past will not only provide an opportunity to keep Everett’s Milltown history alive for years to come, but also support the Port Commission’s capital initiative of creating a waterfront community,” he said. “Public input called for more high-quality public spaces and a performance venue in the new development, and what better way to provide that to the community than by making positive use of this historic asset.”
Unlike previous moves for the building, this move will take place by land instead of by water, and will occur at night. The project site and relocation route will be secured.
Nickel Brothers is the largest house moving company in the Pacific Northwest. The company’s history dates back to 1956 and they pride themselves in the teamwork they use with their various departments to provide safe, efficient solutions for every house lifting or house moving challenge.
“Nickel Brothers is very excited to be a part of this project!” Nickel Brothers Estimator Nick Carpenter said. “This is a very unique and visible project, and we are happy to be the contractor selected to take this historic building to its final home.”
The contract includes:
- Relocation of the 80-foot by 65-foot, 350-ton structure Weyerhaeuser Building to its new location at Boxcar Park (less than one mile) with foundation establishment
- Re-stabilize the building’s current pad for future development
- Providing move route modifications to utilities, landscaping and structures
- Demolishing an existing steel storage building near Boxcar Park
- Moving the mobile restroom facility next to Guest Dock 6, and
- Performing site repairs and improvements related to the projects move impact.
Those wishing to observe the move are directed to Grand Avenue Park on the bluff above the Port of Everett Marina. The Port will photo document the move and those photos will be made available to the public.
For more information, contact Lisa Lefeber, Chief of Policy and Communication, at email@example.com or by phone at 425.388.0617.
About the Historic Weyerhaeuser Building
The historic Weyerhaeuser Office Building’s ornate Gothic-style structure was erected in 1923 at the company’s first Everett plant. Architect Carl Gould was commissioned by the Weyerhaeuser Company to design a 6,000 square foot, one-and-a-half story building that would showcase local wood species such as fir, cedar and hemlock.
The Weyerhaeuser Company was Everett’s largest employer for decades, and the structure resided at two of its largest plants. The Weyerhaeuser Office Building was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1986. Today, the building serves as a reminder of the once abundant and productive lumber and shingle industry that contributed to the evolution of the vibrant Everett waterfront.
The historic Weyerhaeuser building was originally located at Weyerhaeuser’s Mill “A” plant, about one mile south of Waterfront Place in today’s international Seaport. In 1938, after Mill A was converted to a pulp mill, the building was moved to Mill B located on the Snohomish River on the east side of Everett. It served as office space until that mill closed in 1979.
In 1983, the structure was donated to the Port of Everett and barged back down the river to its current home on the waterfront. The building’s two voyages made it a point of public interest and affection. In 2016, the building will be on the move again to the Central Pier of Waterfront Place to serve as the centerpiece of the new Boxcar Park.
About Nickel Brothers
Nickel Brothers is the largest house moving company in the Pacific Northwest. They built their business on the core values of Safety, Precision, and Integrity—since 1956. The company’s history of excellence is based on strong commitment to our customers and employees. Teamwork has been a vital part of Nickel Brother’s success, with their engineering, operations, and permitting departments working diligently together to provide safe, efficient solutions for every house lifting or house moving challenge. Their customers enjoy peace of mind—knowing that their project will benefit from our experience, safety record, permitting proficiency, and logistics expertise.
The family owned company began in British Columbia, Canada, in 1956. Today, the company has two locations in Canada and one location in the United States in Everett, Washington.