The Port of Everett has been thriving on Port Gardner Bay for 90 years. Native Americans of the Snohomish Tribe first inhabited the bay, but later relocated to the Tulalip Indian Reservation. Homesteads brought settlers to the area soon after, who were looking to turn the area’s natural resources into profit. Rapid business growth and the increasing need for goods made the citizens’ decision to create the Port of Everett in 1918 vital. A.D. McAdam, C.W. Miley, and Albert Burke were elected the first commissioners of the Port of Everett.
Their terms were set to last until Dec. 31, 1919, unlike today’s commissioners who serve six-year terms. The Port owns and operates three shipping terminals, a marina, and industrial and commercial properties. The terminals enable the Port to have a central role in the area’s economic development. Over the years, the Port has imported and exported many different types of cargo.
In addition to the forest industry, the Port’s close relationship and support of the aerospace industry has contributed to a substantial amount of this cargo. With the completion of the 12th Street Yacht Basin in 2008, Everett is home to the largest public marina on the West Coast with 2,300 slips. The initial marina operations were constructed in two phases between the mid 1960s and ‘80s and were used to support a once thriving fishing industry in the city. The marina used to be between piers 1 and 3 in what is now the Port’s shipping terminals. A major change in the character of Everett’s waterfront took place in 1987, when the Port sold approximately 110 acres of land for the Everett Navy Homeport. Click here for a history of Naval Station Everett.
The sale generated $40 million for the Port to create opportunity for future economic development. Another unique property owned by the Port of Everett is Jetty Island, a man-made island composed of dredge sands. The Jetty is known for its warm, shallow waters and its popularity during summer months. Substantial progress and development lie ahead for the Port of Everett. Click here for historic summary of the Port of Everett
Port of Everett’s Historic Buildings
Equator Ship At the entrance of the 10th Street Boat Launch is a shed protecting the remains of the two-masted schooner Equator. Built in San Francisco in 1888, the 76-ton sailing boat’s most famous passenger was poet and novelist Robert Louis Stevenson, who sailed from Honolulu to the Gilbert Islands aboard the Equator. His voyage inspired the story, "The Wrecker," in his book, "Tales of the South Seas." The Equator is Everett’s first property on the National Register of Historic Places. After being used for years as a trading vessel and steam rig, the Equator was eventually abandoned in the Everett harbor in 1953. Several serious attempts to rebuild the ship have failed since it was placed on the Register. Weyerhaeuser Building Designed in Gothic style by Seattle architect Carl Gould, the structure was built in 1923 as a lavish office building that showcased the company's local wood products. Originally erected at Weyerhaeuser’s Mill A on Port Gardner Bay, the building was eventually barged north to Weyerhaeuser's Mill B site along the Snohomish River. In 1983 it was sold to the Port and again barged and re-sited in the Port of Everett’s South Marina.