The Port of Everett continues to operate under its current Emergency Operations status. For more information, visit


Your Commissioners

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Port of Everett District 1 Commissioner David SimpsonCOMMISSIONER DAVID SIMPSON
District 1

Simpson graduated from the University of Washington with a degree in U.S. History, and brings more than 45 years of combined public/private sector experience to the Port. His background includes 30 years in the aviation industry with 24 years in manufacturing engineering for The Boeing Company and another six years as an aviation mechanic for the United States Navy. 

Over the past decade, Simpson’s focus has shifted to the public realm, with interest in public policy and community involvement. He has served on many boards and committees throughout his career, including the Washington State House of Representatives 38th District, Everett City Council, City of Everett Planning Commission, Snohomish County Charter Review Commission, and presently, the City of Everett’s Committee for Housing and Community Development. 

District 2

Tom Stiger was elected to the Port Commission in November 2011, and took office on January 1, 2012 for a six-year term. Commissioner Stiger represents Port of Everett District 2.

Stiger was born and raised in Everett and graduated from Everett High School. He attended Western Washington University where he received his B.A., Central Washington University where he received his M.A., and he is a PhD Candidate at Ohio State University.

Work experience encompasses a 27-year career at the Everett School District where he was a teacher and administrator, including holding the office of principal at both Everett and Cascade High Schools. Additionally, he was an Adjunct Instructor at both the University of Washington and Ohio State University. Tom Stiger also owns and operates local family businesses – Abbey Carpet & Floor / Bayside Supply in Everett and Major Brands Floor Supply in Seattle.

Tom Stiger is a U. S. Army Veteran where he served in Civil Affairs and Military Government Units. He also has service with the Corps of Engineers.

Having served as a Port of Everett Commissioner from 1964 through 1972, Tom Stiger brings to the Port a range of maritime experience including, but not limited to, the shipping and commercial fishing industries. Waterfront experience includes working his way through college while longshoring in Everett and Bellingham, and working for Everett Stevedoring (SSA). He was also a correspondent for “Marine Digest” – a Puget Sound Maritime publication. Tom and his family are avid sail and power boaters. Tom Stiger has served on numerous boards for small business, economic development and youth organizations. In addition, he is a Trustee for the Washington Public Ports Association (WPPA) and serves on marina, trade and economic development committees. Tom is also a member of the American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA).


District 3

COMMISSIONER GLEN BACHMAN, CRX/CSM/CPM/RPA, draws on more than thirty years of retail and asset management experience as General Manager of Everett Mall, 24 years of which have been with Kemper Development as Vice president of Operations & administration for Bellevue Square, Lincoln square and Bellevue Properties. His responsibilities include lease administration, assembly and the administration of the operating budget, including capital expense projects, contract negotiation and administration.

Prior to his time with Kemper Development, Glen has experience as GM and regional operations at Frederick & Nelson department stores. Mr Bachman has a BA in Marketing from Eastern Washington University, with continued studies in asset management.

He is a current member of the ICSC, a Board Member of the Washington Retail Association, and a member of the ICSC Govt. & Public Policy Committee. He is a past ICSC Western Regional Govt. Relations Chair, past Western Washington IREM President. He is the Designated Broker for Steadfast Properties in Washington, and recently assigned to the executive board of the Puget Sound Regional Council.