Port Access & Security
scroll icon

Port Access & Security

Port Access

The Port of Everett, along with all other seaports in the United States, is subject to the Maritime Transportation Security Act (MTSA). Seaports that had always been open for the public to view commerce in action became secured at September 11, 2001,  allowing only those with official business to gain access.

The United States Coast Guard enforces security standards on all facilities receiving foreign vessels. Any visitor to the seaport must notify security 24 hours in advance, have a Transportation Worker Identification Credential or be escorted, and follow specific entry requirements as detailed below.

Transportation Worker Identification Credential (TWIC)

In 2008, federal law required all personnel working or entering an MTSA regulated facility to be in possession of a valid TWIC.  For more information on obtaining a TWIC, click hereto obtain a TSA Precheck, click here. 

Entry Requirements:

  • All persons entering the seaport must be on official business
  • All persons entering the seaport must have a valid TWIC or be escorted
  • All escorts must be trained and approved for the Port of Everett
  • All persons escorted must have a valid government issued photo ID
  • All visitors must provide 24 hours advanced notice and valid point of contact
  • All vehicles must be properly registered and insured
  • All persons, vehicles, deliveries and cargo are subject to screening

Maritime Security Levels

The U.S. Coast Guard has a three-tiered system of Maritime Security (MARSEC) levels consistent with the Department of Homeland Security’s Homeland Security Advisory System (HSAS). MARSEC Levels are designed to provide a means to easily communicate pre-planned scalable responses to increased threat levels.

The Commandant of the U.S. Coast Guard sets MARSEC levels commensurate with the HSAS. MARSEC levels are set to reflect the prevailing threat environment to the marine elements of the national transportation system, including ports, vessels, facilities, critical assets and infrastructure located on or adjacent to waters subject to U.S. jurisdiction.

MARSEC Level 1 
The level for which minimum appropriate security measures shall be maintained at all times. MARSEC 1 generally applies when HSAS Threat Condition Green, Blue, or Yellow are set.

MARSEC Level 2 
The level for which appropriate additional protective security measures shall be maintained for a period of time as a result of heightened risk of a transportation security incident. MARSEC 2 generally corresponds to HSAS Threat Condition Orange.

MARSEC Level 3
The level for which further specific protective security measures shall be maintained for a limited period of time when a transportation security incident is probable, imminent, or has occurred, although it may not be possible to identify the specific target. MARSEC 3 generally corresponds to HSAS Threat Condition Red. 

Signage at the marine terminals entry gate reflects what level the Port of Everett MARSEC level is operating under.